Pipestone County Commissioner Meeting October 23, 2018

The Pipestone County Commissioners met with Vice-Chairman Chris Hollingsworth,
Luke Johnson, Bruce Kooiman, and Les Nath. County Administrator Steve Ewing was also
present. Chairman Dan Wildermuth absent. Vice-Chairman Hollingsworth called the meeting to
order at 9:00 AM with the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

#### **AGENDA**

Motion by Nath, seconded by Kooiman to approve the agenda. Yeas: Hollingsworth, Johnson, Kooiman, Nath. Nay: None. Absent: Wildermuth. Motion carried.

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

Motion by Johnson, seconded by Kooiman by to approve the consent agenda as follows:

- 1. Approve Minutes of October 9, 2018
- 2. Auditor Warrants 10/12/18, 10/19/18
- 3. Hospital Warrants in the amount of \$393,534.72

Yeas: Hollingsworth, Johnson, Kooiman, Nath. Nay: None. Absent: Wildermuth. Motion carried.

## LINDSEY BRUER – 10 YEAR CHIP/PROJECT UPDATE

Minnesota Department of Transportation (MNDOT) District 8 Planning Director Lindsey Bruer joined the meeting and presented information on the MNDOT's Ten (10) Year Capital Highway Investment Plan (CHIP) and answered questions from the Board.

#### TYLER REISCH – PROJECT FOR TAX FORFEITED PROPERTY 18-645-1180

Auditor Tyler Reisch presented a quote in the amount of \$3,748.00 from Double "D" Gravel Inc. for the removal of the ceiling and walls of the open portion of tax-forfeited property 18.645.1180, the old Quarry Twin Theater, at the rear of the building. It is currently a safety hazard. Motion by Kooiman, seconded by Nath to approve the quote from Double "D" Gravel Inc. in the amount of \$3,748.00 for the removal of the ceiling and walls of the open portion of the old Quarry Twin Theater at the rear of the building. Yeas: Hollingsworth, Johnson, Kooiman, Nath. Nay: None. Absent: Wildermuth. Motion carried.

#### **EMPLOYEE RECOGNITION PROGRAM RESOLUTION 59-32-18**

A program was held recognizing the following county employees and elected officials and their years of service to Pipestone County.

Crystle Dougherty 5 years

Tyler Reisch	5 years
Rita Hazelton	10 years
Eric Ossefoort	10 years
Mike Appel	15 years
Joyce Schmidt	15 years
Steve Sneller	15 years
Bob Kooiker	20 years
Damain Sandy	20 years
Candy Whipple	20 years
Ed Scholten	30 years
Carol Scotting	35 years

Motion by Johnson, seconded by Nath to approve Resolution 59-32-18 recognizing the above list of county employees and their years of service to Pipestone County. Yeas: Hollingsworth, Johnson, Kooiman, Nath. Nay: None. Absent: Wildermuth. Motion carried.

## LINCOLN COUNTY, SD JAIL CONTRACT

Sheriff Keith Vreeman and Jail Administrator Ed Scholten presented for approval a contract for Jail Services between Pipestone County and Lincoln County, South Dakota. The contract states that Pipestone County agrees to accept Lincoln County, SD prisoners, and to undertake their custody, housing, safekeeping, and subsistence in accordance with state and federal law. Lincoln County agrees to pay Pipestone County at a rate of \$55.00 per day for each inmate space utilized. The term of the contract begins on November 1, 2018 and may be terminated by each party upon ninety (90) days written notice. Motion by Nath, seconded by Johnson to approve the contract for Jail Services between Pipestone County and Lincoln County, SD effective November 1, 2018. Yeas: Hollingsworth, Johnson, Kooiman, Nath. Nay: None. Absent: Wildermuth. Motion carried.

## FEEDLOT PUBLIC MEETING - KYLE KRACHT - 10:00AM

Environmental Administrator Kyle Krier and Kyle Kracht joined the meeting. A feedlot public meeting was held for the following feedlot application: Kyle Kracht, for a proposed modification of his feedlot located in the SE Quarter of Section 30 in Osborne Township. No members of the public were in attendance for the meeting.

## ADMINISTRATOR STEVE EWING

County Administrator Steve Ewing reviewed the 2018 3<sup>rd</sup> quarter budget with Commissioners.

Administrator Ewing presented a County Report template that is to be completed before the November 1, 2018 AMC District Meeting.

# October 23, 2018

Motion by Kooiman, seconded by Johnson to adjo	urn. Yeas: Hollingsworth, Johnson,
Kooiman, Nath. Nay: None. Absent: Wildermuth. Motio	on carried. Meeting adjourned at
10:31a.m.	
	Dan Wildermuth Pipestone County Board Chairman
ATTEST:	
	Steven Ewing
	County Administrator