June 21, 2016

Pipestone County Commissioner Meeting Special Meeting with Murray County Slayton, MN June 21, 2016

The Pipestone County Commissioners joined the Murray County Board of Commissioners meeting at 9:35 a.m. with the following present: Chairman Luke Johnson, Commissioners Bruce Kooiman, Les Nath, Jerry L. Remund, and Dan Wildermuth. Murray County Commissioners present: James Jens, Glenn Kluis, Gerald Magnus and Dave Thiner. Staff present: County Administrator Sharon Hanson, Environmental Administrator Kyle Krier, Murray Solid Waste Administrator Jon Bloemendaal, Murray Coordinator Aurora Heard, Murray County Attorney Travis Smith. Murray County Chairman Dave Thiner welcomed Pipestone County. Chairman Johnson spoke on behalf Pipestone County Commissioners recent action to pursue single stream recycling and requested consideration by Murray County as part of their role in operating the Tri-County Recycling Facility located in Slayton, MN.

Solid Waste Administrator Jon Bloemendaal presented financial information on the Tri-County Recycling Facility and market history on selling the recycling material.

Pipestone County and Murray County Boards discussed future direction, future market driven pressures to either remain the same or increase the cost to each County for recycling.

Consensus of both Murray and Pipestone County to continue to look at recycling options as a single county or together. Pipestone County Board of Commissioners excused themselves from the Murray County Board meeting at 10:45 a.m.

	Luke Johnson Pipestone County Board Chair
ATTEST:	Sharon Hanson County Administrator